Non-Support Attorneys Located in Canton, Michigan
It is a crime in the State of Michigan to not pay your child support. There are many laws in Michigan that govern the determination of child support, enforcement, and procedure. The Attorney General relies upon the following two criminal statutes to prosecute those who fail to support their children:
A. MCL 750.161
750.161 Desertion, abandonment, or refusal or neglect to provide shelter, food, care, and clothing; felony; penalty; bond; probation; failure to comply with conditions in bond; forfeiture of bond; disposition of sums received; continuing offense; proof.
(1) A person who deserts and abandons his or her spouse or deserts and abandons his or her children under 17 years of age, without providing necessary and proper shelter, food, care, and clothing for them, and a person who being of sufficient ability fails, neglects, or refuses to provide necessary and proper shelter, food, care, and clothing for his or her spouse or his or her children under 17 years of age, is guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment in a state correctional facility for not less than 1 year and not more than 3 years, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 3 months and not more than 1 year.
B· MCL 750.165
750.165 Refusing to support wife or children as required by court order; violation as felony; penalty; exception; suspension of sentence; bond; “state disbursement unit” or “SDU” defined.
(1) If the court orders an individual to pay support for the individual’s former or current spouse, or for a child of the individual, and the individual does not pay the support in the amount or at the time stated in the order, the individual is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or by a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both.
If you have been charged with Felony Non-Support please call us today at 734 927-9782 so we can discuss your matter.